About CSTA

The Computer Science Teachers Association (CSTA) understands that teaching computer science is hard. That’s why our dedicated team and teacher-led Board of Directors has focused on creating a strong environment to support K–12 educators.
We’re proud to have created a community that:
  • Is led by K-12 computer science teachers, and puts teacher needs at the forefront
  • Shares the latest best practices in K-12 computer science education
  • Creates local communities across the US + Canada that make sure every computer science teacher has a home.
  • Builds the largest teacher-led computer science professional development event in the world each year!
  • Provides access to exclusive discounts on courses and tools that will take your teaching practice to the next level.
You might be the only computer science teacher in your school, district or town, but as a part of CSTA, we’re in this together.
CSTA Arkansas was established in 2009 as your local computer science community. This chapter was built to connect you with other computer science teachers, provide professional development to help you improve your craft, and connect your local voice to the national computer science education community.

Your CSTA Arkansas Leadership Team

Carl Frank HeadshotCarl Frank, President
Carl Frank earned a Master’s Degree in Computer Science from the University of Southern Mississippi and a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science from Henderson State University.
Frank has taught computer science for over 28 years, at both the university and high school level. He has been teaching at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts (ASMSA) since 1995. Frank was recently named one of the finalists for the 2019 Arkansas Computer Science Educator of the Year
In addition to being a member of CSTA, and Arkansas CSTA Frank serves on the State Science Fair Board, the Arkansas Expanding Computer Educational Pathways (ECEP) team, the Girls of Promise Steering Committee, the District-wide Educator Advisory Board (EAB) for the Little Rock Branch-Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, and is a member of the Arkansas Academy of Computing.
He lives in Traskwood, Arkansas, located in Saline County. At home, he is involved in the community by serving on the Glen Rose School Board, where he has served for over 17 years.  He also is a member of the Saline County Democratic Central Committee.
Daniel Moix HeadshotDaniel Moix, Vice President 
Daniel Moix is an Arkansas educator licensed in business with endorsements in computer science and mobile application development. He has taught at the high school and college levels since 2003, and he was a recipient of the 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and the 2016 Awards for Teaching Excellence in Computer Science. Moix currently works to grow the number of teachers in Arkansas qualified to teach computer science.
Vernard Henley HeadshotVernard Henley, Treasurer 
Vernard Henley is currently the Assistant Dean for the College of Engineering & Information Technology (EIT) at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR).  The Richmond, Virginia native graduated with honors with a degree in civil engineering from the University of Tennessee. Henley has more than 14 years of experience as an engineer for, then, Exxon Company, USA, in New Orleans.
For more than twenty years, Henley has developed, operated, and managed pre-college engineering programs for grades six through twelve at the University of New Orleans and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, including a majority of which that focus on exposing underrepresented students to engineering disciplines.  Henley is responsible for EIT’s undergraduate private and institutional scholarships, recruiting, career services, K-12 outreach programs, and retention efforts. Henley serves on the Governor's Advisory Commission on National Service and Volunteerism and he is a board member for eSTEM Public Charter School and World Services for the Blind in Little Rock.
Nick Seward, Secretary 
Nick Seward has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering and is in the process of completing his Master's Degree in Physics from the University of Arkansas. He previously taught at Bentonville High School, Mulberry High School, and Arkansas Governor's School in the areas of Physics, Chemistry, Engineering and Computer Science. Seward joined the ASMSA faculty in 2010 and teaches computer science.
Contact CSTA Arkansas
Enter your email address and the message you want to send.
fields are required